September always seems to be a month full of changes. The seasons change from summer to fall, with the days getting much shorter and the trees start their annual color shift. For kids and college students, it’s the start of a new school year and grade level, with all the new clothes and school supplies that go along with it. For adults, September is frequently the month for moving into a new home as leases expire.

And here in Kira’s World, this September has one more change than usual. Starting next week, I’ll be leaving the Alderwood Branch for Verity’s headquarters, where I’m going to be the new marketing coordinator. In the new position, I’ll be helping the marketing department connect Verity with current and future members, ensuring we’re providing the best products and services that we can. (I’m also going to be helping run Verity’s blogs, so you’ll still be able to find me here on Our Voices!)

I’m excited for new my position, and all the different opportunities I’ll have with it, but I’m also going to miss my friends and members from the Alderwood Branch. When I started here a year and a half ago, I didn’t realize I was going to be welcomed with open arms into a tight-knit, loving family. I’ll still be able to see everyone, and may even periodically pitch-in or work remotely from the branch! But, I’m going to miss my first Verity family, even as I’m welcomed into my second.

What changes are you experiencing this September?

Kira Cox

Hi, I’m Kira. I joined Verity in early 2012 after a seven-year stint as a newspaper reporter. While I never thought my career path would veer off in this direction, I am loving my time at Verity. I recently moved from being a member services representative at the Alderwood Branch to being the marketing coordinator for the credit union.

I’m originally from Texas, but I have lived all over the country and the world, including Boston, Massachusetts, Anchorage, Alaska and Sydney, Australia. But in all my travels, the Pacific Northwest is the only place that has felt like home.

When not at work, I am usually home with playing with my son, husband, dog and three cats. During the rare times I don’t have a to-do list to plow through (and it’s not raining too hard), I can be found digging in the vegetable garden, training for a half-marathon, or grilling in the backyard.

Leave a Reply